Find a Sport Find a Facility
Home   About Sport NL Membership Programs Funding  Events   News   Gallery  Contact Us

Sport Newfoundland and Labrador Announces 2017 Scholarship Recipients

May 29, 2017

ST. JOHN’S – Sport Newfoundland and Labrador has announced the scholarship recipients of the 2017 Sport Newfoundland and Labrador Scholarship Program. 17 scholarships were awarded Friday, May 26th at a reception at the Johnson Geo Centre.

“These scholarship winners are true examples of excellence in sport,” said Troy Croft, Executive Director of SportNL. “It is very important to acknowledge their accomplishments, both academic and athletic, and to encourage them as they pursue their desired sporting goals. We hope these scholarship recipients inspire others to work hard and excel at what they do best.”

The Sport Newfoundland and Labrador Scholarship Programprovides financial assistance to qualifying amateur athletes, coaches and officials, who are enrolled in a post secondary institution, to assist in offsetting the costs of training and competition. The program has been in place for over 25 years, with thousands of dollars being distributed to deserving students around the province.

“We are very proud of these recipients,” said Doug Fowler, President of Sport Newfoundland and Labrador. “These athletes, coaches and officials work extremely hard and these scholarships will help them to continue their pursuit for excellence in their athletics.”

Sport Newfoundland and Labrador also presents the Frank T. Butler Memorial Scholarship, valued at $1,500. Frank Butler was vital to the development of athletics at Memorial University, and played an integral part in developing interuniversity sport experience across Canada. This year, Jillian Forsey of Kippens was the recipient of the Frank Butler Memorial Scholarship.

2017 Recipients:
Leslie Amminson of St. John’s (Handball)
Alexander Brandt of St. John’s (Rowing)
Blair Bursey of Gander (Golf)
Shannon Driscoll of St. John’s (Synchronized
Meghan Earle of Mt. Pearl (Soccer)
Jillian Forsey of Kippens (Athletics)
Cheryl Hearn of St. Joseph’s (Shooting)
Hannah Jardine of St. John’s (Basketball)
Erik Joy of Paradise (Wrestling)
Daniel Kelloway of Mt. Pearl (Athletics)
Samantha Marsh of Mount Pearl (Shooting)
Jessie Noseworthy of St. John’s (Soccer)
Patrick Parfrey of St. John’s (Rugby)
Jade Roberts of Twillingate (Figure Skating)
Stephen Snow of St. John’s (Ultimate Frisbee)
Mitchell Stack of Petty Harbour (Softball)
Noah Taylor of CBS (Cross Country Ski)

About Sport Newfoundland and Labrador
Sport Newfoundland and Labrador is the volunteer organization committed to the promotion and advancement of amateur sport throughout Newfoundland and Labrador. Sport Newfoundland and Labrador represents 55 provincial sport organizations and more than 70,000 individual members, and offers a broad range of programs and services.

Back to Sport NL News