Skate Canada Newfoundland and Labrador announces Skate Canada Challenge Team

November 17, 2016, Skate Canada Newfoundland & Labrador

St. John’s NL

Newfoundland and Labrador’s top figure skaters are headed to Skate Canada Challenge being held November 30-December 4, 2016 in Pierrefonds, Quebec. Over 500 of the finest skaters from across Canada will participate in the 2017 Skate Canada Challenge. Skaters qualify to compete through their respective sectional championships. Sectionals identify the top skaters in our Province for advancement to the next round of qualifying events ultimately leading to the Canadian Figure Skating Championships.

Sectionals allow Skate Canada Newfoundland and Labrador to feature our talented skaters, trained officials, and volunteers, recognize sponsors, and provide entertaining skating for audiences at the provincial level.

Skate Canada Newfoundland and Labrador (SCNL) is a proud member of Skate Canada and the governing body of figure skating in Newfoundland and Labrador. However, we go far beyond figure skating. As the largest learn-to skate teaching organization in the province we offer programming for all ages and abilities through our more than 30 member clubs and schools located from St. John’s to Labrador City. Currently boasting a membership of 5, 500 participants, we are the largest learn-to-skate teaching organization in the province. Skate Canada Newfoundland and Labrador is dedicated to offering quality programming and inspiring Newfoundlanders and Labradorians to embrace the joy of skating.


Senior Women
Ashley Morgan - Mount Pearl – Paradise SC

Junior Women
Jakiera Rideout - Mount Pearl – Paradise SC

Novice Women
Jenna Efford - Conception Bay North SC
Amber Boutcher - Conception Bay South SC
Hannah Robertson - Stephenville SC

Pre Novice Women
Jaime Gabbard - Deer Lake SC
Caylie Rose Blake - Silver Blades SC
Hayley Dalton - Conception Bay South SC

Second Row Left to Right: Amber Boutcher, Jakiera Rideout, Jenna Efford,Cylie Rose Blake; First Row Left to Right: Hayley Dalton, Jaime Gabbard, Ashley Morgan; Missing from photo: Hannah Robertson.

Bev Power Section Chairperson of Skate Canada Newfoundland and Labrador extends a huge thank you to all who made the 2017 Skate Canada Newfoundland and Labrador a great success and sends Congratulations to all skaters on their achievements this past weekend.

Susan Dean
Branding and Production Director
Skate Canada NL

Back to PSO News